Hello and welcome to our site!

Hello! Our names are Guillaume and Tom and we would like to thank you for taking the time to visit our adoption website.

Guillaume and Tom last summer at the family cottage on Lake Erie.
Guillaume and Tom last summer at the family cottage on Lake Erie.

We’d like to take a minute to introduce you to our home in New Jersey, our families in France and Ohio, and our friends. Oh, and our two cats and incredibly sweet Beagle, too!

After 11 years together, we’re quite excited by the prospect of enlarging our family through adoption, and appreciate your consideration in this journey.

We understand that the decision to place your child for adoption is a difficult one and we have a lot of respect for it. We’re honored that you’re even on our site and considering us!

Interested in hearing more? Check out the pages on this site and please get in touch by calling us at (855) 403-6234. Or email us at info@guiandtom.com. We’d love to chat more about where you are in the process, who we are, and answer any questions you might have.

Thanks for stopping by, and have a great day!

Continue Reading

Our home

Our small town in northern New Jersey is vibrant and diverse, and located near New York City. It’s a great town, and very progressive, with lots of adoptive families and “two dad” and “two mom” households.

We live in a 100-year old five-bedroom colonial home, with a front porch (yes, with a swing!) and a back deck looking out over the backyard, where we eat every night when the weather is nice.

home_sofaThe neighborhood

We know nearly all of our neighbors on our street and spend lots of time outside with them, chatting, getting gardening advice (we need it!) and sometimes even grabbing a bite together. (One teenage neighbor is already excited to babysit for us!).

We have a large park down the street with two fields and a playground, as well as a public library. We have a very good public elementary school just around the corner.

The pets

The house is filled with animals. (Don’t worry — we vacuum often.) We have two exceptional cats: Juno (“the shy one”), who we rescued from our former building in New York, and Varla (“Ms. Personality”), who we adopted a few months later to keep Juno active. They spend a lot of time on the window sills monitoring the birds.

We also have a rescue Beagle, named Elle, who joined the family about a year ago. She loves to walk in the park and along the tree-lined streets in our neighborhood (although she can take a reallllly loooooonnnnng time on her walks, as she insists on sniffing every blade of grass).

Raking leaves in front of the house this year.
Guillaume raking leaves in front of the house this year.
Juno (left) and Varla (right) spend a lot of time sleeping.
Juno (left) and Varla (right) spend a lot of time sleeping.
Elle is the world's sweetest Beagle.
Elle is ready for her close-up.

 

Continue Reading

Our Story

We met in 2006 through a mutual friend when Tom was living in New York and Guillaume was finishing his degree in Boston. We liked each other right away — and have actually been together since the day we met. For two years we went back and forth every weekend, and then in 2008 Guillaume moved down to New York to live with Tom.

The day of our wedding celebration in 2014 in France.
The day of our wedding celebration in 2014 in France.

We filed for a domestic partnership in 2009 and were married in 2013. While we tied the knot at City Hall in New York, we celebrated the event in the summer of 2014 with family and friends in the South of France.

Our lives together

Living together has been such a blessing and so much fun. We’re partners and best friends, and share many interests and hobbies.

We love cooking, and at least one of us is busy in the kitchen every night. Sitting down together at dinner is the most important time of the day for us, as we get to talk over the day, and we look forward to continuing this tradition with a child.

We enjoy experiencing domestic life in small town New Jersey. Whether it’s gardening, walking the dog to the park, finding treasures at estate sales, or heading to a diner with our family or friends… it’s always fun.

story_wvEnlarging our family

For the past ten years we’ve greatly enjoyed our roles as uncles to our three nieces and one nephew. Spending regular time with them has made us realize that we want to raise a child of our own.

Guillaume loves playing with kids and clowning around. He’s a hit every Fourth of July, when we head back to Ohio for a week to hang out at the family’s cottage on Lake Erie. Tom is always happy to take his nephew and nieces around town, to the library or playground, and in to the city to visit the dinosaurs at the Museum of Natural History! (Trust us, it’s always a hit.)

story_closeupstory_sunburned

 

Continue Reading

From Guillaume

From Guillaume

I grew up in a small village in the Normandy region of France, an area with lots of farms and animals (and famous for its creams and cheeses!). I moved to Paris to attend university, continued my studies in Berlin, and then finished my postgraduate work in cancer research at Harvard Medical School in Boston.

Gui and Jerome devour lobster rolls on Long Island.
Gui and Jerome devour lobster rolls on Long Island.

My parents, Francoise and Raymond, moved to the south of France when they retired a few years ago. My older brother Jerome lives in Bordeaux, where he is a lawyer, and he visits us often (and loves lobster rolls, pictured right). Our family adopted my younger sister Camille from Thailand when she was two years old. She studied administrative work for small companies, now works in Barcelona, and will be staying with us for a couple weeks this July. (We can’t wait!)

I work as a scientist for a pharmaceutical company that makes drugs for heart diseases, cancer, multiple sclerosis and more. I enjoy swimming, biking, yoga and dinners with friends and family.

Gui's mother Francoise with brother Jerome.
Gui’s mother Francoise with brother Jerome.

Family in France

We travel to France twice a year, during the summer and Christmas holidays, to spend time with Guillaume’s family and friends. We usually spend some time in Paris (below, Guillaume eating on a sidewalk terrace). Then we go to the south of France to be with Guillaume’s parents in their small village.

guiThe New Year’s holiday always means lots of delicious and long dinners cooked by Guillaume’s mom (top photo). We usually stay at least one week with his parents. Summer is a different scene, with long hikes and bike rides, and lots of splashing around in the parents’ pool. We also try to get back to Normandy to visit Guillaume’s aunts, uncles and grandmother as often as possible.

The entire family in France is happy about our decision to adopt, and to raise a child who’s familiar with both the United States and France. And yes, we plan to raise our child speaking French and English at home, so he or she will be quite comfortable spending time in France.

gui_village
Guillaume walking along the ancient streets of his parent’s village.
uncles_aunts
Gui with aunts and uncles in Normandy
The family at Christmas in France
Gui’s family at Christmas in France. (Tom took the photo.)
Gui with Elise
Gui with our niece Elise at Brooklyn Bridge Park.
Gui's parents with Tom in Long Island
Gui’s parents with Tom in Long Island.
Raymond and Francoise
Raymond and Francoise, Gui’s parents.
Continue Reading

From Tom

Tom having breakfast on Jerome's balcony in Paris.
Tom having breakfast in Paris.

From Tom

I grew up in a small town in Ohio and moved to New York in 1993 to attend Columbia University. Growing up with two brothers and one sister (I’m number three), there was always a lot of activity in our house. Probably because of this, I find slightly zany homes with non-stop action (and plenty of pets) to be great, fun places for kids.

Both of my brothers live in Brooklyn and Gui and I see them often. My sister used to live with me in New York, but today resides with her husband and two children in Ohio. We see them several times a year — at big family holidays, and they stay with us when they visit New York.

Professionally, I create and run travel-related websites and work in new media. I started several of my own sites about 15 years ago, and still run them today.

tom_baby_elise
The gang in Ohio at Christmas.
Tom with his sister Elizabeth.
Tom with his sister Elizabeth on Lake Erie.

Family in Ohio

We go back to Ohio several times a year to visit Tom’s family, including during the summer, Thanksgiving and Christmas.

Summers are spent in a small community on Lake Erie, where Tom’s family owns a cottage. The entire extended family comes home for a few weeks over the Fourth of July (pictured at top).

This town is great for kids, as there are very few cars, and children can ride around on bikes, play tennis and even go sailing with safety. We look forward to experiencing the summer here with our own child. We plan to spend as much time as possible there every summer, and we want our child to be close to his or her cousins, aunts, uncles, and (of course!) grandparents.

family_cottagejpg
Everyone comes together at our cottage on Lake Erie every July.

 

Pass the potatoes! We celebrate Thanksgiving every year in Ohio.
Pass the potatoes! We celebrate Thanksgiving every year in Ohio with the entire family.
Continue Reading

Family and Friends

Pumpkin picking with Eva in New Jersey!
Pumpkin picking with Eva in New Jersey!

Above: Goofing off with all the siblings at our wedding in France in 2014.

We spend a lot of time with our family in New York as well as in New Jersey. Tom’s two brothers, Pete and Ben, both live in Brooklyn. We usually see each other at least every two weeks.

Tom’s younger brother Pete and his wife Meredith have two daughters, aged seven and four. They’ve been great “training” for us. We often take the girls to play in Brooklyn Bridge Park, ride the carousel or visit the zoo. Of course, we’re excited for the girls to have a little cousin in town to play with! Tom’s sister Elizabeth regularly visits and stays with us, often bringing her son Alex (below, crossing the Brooklyn Bridge with us).

Crossing the Brooklyn Bridge with Alex.
Crossing the Brooklyn Bridge with Alex.

Guillaume’s parents and siblings visit and stay with us almost every year. They plan to visit and stay with us even more often in the future, especially one a child enters the picture.

Friends nearby

We both feel very fortunate to have a nice group of close friends in the city and in our small town, and also throughout the US and Europe. We see our friends very often, and consider them to be our extended family. We make dinner together, celebrate birthdays together, and are there for each other when needed.

Many of our friends are now becoming parents, and some are also going through the adoption process, which has been very helpful. We’re pleased to think about our child growing up together with the children of our best friends.

Tom also has a group of very close friends from his summers growing up on Lake Erie, who we spend time with every July. Guillaume’s friends and family members from Europe always stay with us when visiting New York. It’s always fun to take them on a tour of the ‘burbs and the big city!

Continue Reading

Get in touch

Thanks so much for taking the time to read our story!

If you’re pregnant and thinking about placing your child for adoption, we’d be honored for you to consider us. We both have so much respect for the journey that you’re on right now, and know that the process can at times seem daunting.

But we’re here, and would love for you to get in touch. We’d love to chat more about where you are in your process, tell you more about who we are, and answer any questions you might have.

Give us a call or drop us a note. We’d love to say hi.

Tel: (855) 403-6234

Email: info@guiandtom.com

Continue Reading